Lisa Gallo

Tech NO zone

In business on July 6, 2012 at 12:46 am

Twitter! LinkedIn! Facebook! Pintrest! These are all highly popular technologies that connect people around the world. If you have not heard of at least one of these websites, you’re definitely dis-connected.  It’s amazing to see how these sites have sprung into growth mode over the past few years and in some cases, as recent as the past few months.  iPhone! BBM! gChat! Blackberry! These are all modern-day consumer favorites around the globe.  If you’re not in the know, you’re missing out.

On a recent Friday morning I was scurrying out of my door, I had my weekend bag in hand, head phones plugged in and I was ready to take on the concrete jungle.  But wait…I realized something was missing, my iphone!  I need to get to my office so I don’t want to turn back, I thought to myself.  I decided to continue on knowing that I could figure out a time to pick up my cell phone during my afternoon break.  I arrived to the office – meetings, interviews, phone calls, reference checks, the day took off.

My day continued and before I knew it I realized, I didn’t miss my cell phone, who would have thought?  It felt relaxing to not have a cell phone to check or to look at.  I realized that I liked that feeling and for the weekend ahead I would dis-connect from the world, from the work hustle, I would forget about the deadlines and really enjoy my time with my loved ones, TECH FREE!

The weekend consisted of my typical weekend routine.  I caught the 6:45 bus out to the beach, upon arrival at the beach I enjoyed a relaxing dinner for 2, then sipped on an after dinner drink and I felt like a million bucks.  The next morning my routine continued with a run to the bagel shop, followed by lounging at the pool with mojitos and chips, plus a few chuckles in between – PERFECT.   The weekend was fantastic and felt like a true escape even more than ever because I didn’t have my iPhone, blackberry, iPod or text messages going off.

As a person who uses the internet daily, I will be the first to admit I am a technology user and I have a fascination with Facebook, linked in, pintrest and twitter .  It IS amazing how by one simple click of the mouse you can blast a message out to millions of people or re-connect with long-lost family members by inputting someone’s name into Facebook.  I wouldn’t be able to communicate with friends as often as I do if it weren’t for these brilliant inventions nor would I be able to do my job.

Technology is amazing and has changed the world in many positive ways.  HOWEVER, many people can become attached to technology taking them away from the treasures of life.  I think everyone owes it to themselves to dis-connect from the grind once in a while.  I promise you can communicate without a telephone or any of the new forms of technology that may have hit the market in the past 5 minutes.  You may see your days differently and value your time more.  You may notice a beautiful birds’ chirp or recognize how much you miss hugging your loved ones.  I did!  It sounds like a simple concept doesn’t it? Then why do we all have our cell phones attached to our hip as if it is an extension to our body.

Take a break; put the technology down for a moment, it will be there when you return!  I will be the first to say technology is great…but not great in excess.

  1. Love your words!! Amazing message- and awesome post!!

  2. Well said Lele 🙂

  3. Ooops, from Katie ^

  4. Thanks Lisa! I am going on vacation next week (Aruba – yeah!!!) and was contemplating NOT bringing my cellphone, reading this made up my mind!!!!

  5. Great!!!! Leave it at home 🙂 It will REALLY feel like a vacation from reality! YEA! I love Arube 🙂 Enjoy.

Leave a comment